Team South Carolina Announced!

News | July 21st, 2021

Team South Carolina has been announced for the 2022 Special Olympics USA Games, June 5-12, 2022, in Orlando, Florida. Team South Carolina has 199 total delegation members and with just a few team spots left to be determined — the entire delegation is comprised of athletes, Unified Partners and coaches from around the state.

Team South Carolina Statistics:
199 delegates total
149 Athletes and Unified Partners
41 Coaches
3 Youth Leadership Participants
6 Staff/Medical/Caddie

Individual Sports:
Athletics, Bocce, Bowling, Equestrian, Golf, Art Gymnastics, Powerlifting, Stand UP Paddleboard, Swimming, Surfing, and Tennis

Team Sports:
Unified 5X5 Basketball, Traditional 3X3 Basketball, Unified Competitive Cheer, Unified Flag Football, Unified Soccer

Physical Activity Plan
Every member of Team South Carolina has committed to do an 8 week health and fitness plan prior to games. This plan was designed as an 8-week program that can be completed multiple times before games, in addition to regular training. Physical activities are sport specific, and examples of all exercises are available on the USA Games Activity Plan playlist on the Special Olympics SC YouTube channel. At the start of the program, delegation members will be asked to log their nutrition for a week and submit to Kara Harmon, [email protected]. Nutrition logs will be analyzed on a team basis by our Health Promotion Clinical Director, who will then provide the team recommendations for improvement.

Download Activity Plan
Download Nutrition Log


Check out the delegation members listed below by Sport.

2022 Special Olympics USA Games South Carolina Delegation

Head of Delegation:  Kelly Garrick, Senior Director of Sports & Competition
Assistant Head of Delegation:  Kara Harmon, Director of Programs
Assistant Head of Delegation : Anna Parks, Program Manager
Family Coordinator:  Anthony Buzzetti, Director of Community Outreach
Additional Staff:  Barbara Oswald, VP of Programs
Mike Still, Director of LETR Operations


3×3 Traditional Basketball – Amazon Dragons, Dorchester
Head Coach: Mark Queen
Asst. Coach: T Beck
Katie Beck
Timara Footman
Amanda Fusarini
Aimee Grayson
Chelsea Nacco
Megan Queen 

5×5 Unified Basketball – MPRD Stingers, Mount Pleasant
Head Coach:  Paul Maschek
Asst. Coach:  Christine Reineke
Asst. Coach:  Sharon Eads
Ryan Carlin
Grant Baker
Sheldon Murray
Daniel Brown
David Vaughn
Jimmy Miller
Josh Tutterow – Unified Partner
Katherine Eads – Unified Partner
Phil Coffey – Unified Partner
Elizabeth Eads – Unified Partner 

Interscholastic Unified Basketball Team – TBD (school-based program)

Head Coach: Shelby Edlin, Greenville
Asst. Coach: Beth Toth, Rock Hill
Asst. Coach: Gloria Gambrell, Pickens

Unified Doubles:
Ashley Bond and Cindy King, Abbeville
Davontae Brown and Matt Rikard, West Columbia
Ca’Mayra Boulware and Sydney Broadus, Spartanburg
Ryan Scapin and Richard Scapin, Rock Hill

Traditional Doubles:
Teresa Boehme and Nan Toth, Rock Hill
Marcus Crowder and Dante Allgood, Pickens

Head Coach: Allyson Panzino, Anderson
Asst. Coach: Berrye Hinson, Georgetown
Asst. Coach: Marcus Rhodes, Conway
Terrace Smith, Greenville
Sharod Lewis, Georgetown
Nicole Brock, Anderson
Teeyana Mack and Kori Bernhagen, Lexington
Scott Truitt and Amy Myers, Beaufort
Robyn Tention and Heather Miller, Sumter
Eric Purcell and Patrick Purcell, Myrtle Beach 

Cheer – Unified, Swansea Tigers, Swansea
Head Coach: Hannah Helms
Asst. Coach: Mary Kennedy
Asst. Coach: Raven Thomas
Fabian Barwis-Sanchez
Cheyenne Bonds
Lisbet Cruz
Steven Bush
Hunter Ray
Salena Rodriguez
Katelyn Smith
Jordan Miller
Sami  Lackey – Unified Partner
Gabby Cruz – Unified Partner
Chapel-Anne Farris – Unified Partner
Adelyn Allen – Unified Partner
Allison Livingston – Unified Partner
Kyla Leysath – Unified Partner

Head Coach: Nicole Pioli, Aiken
Alicia Jacques, Laurens
Sam Neighbors, Laurens
Abigail Beall, Beaufort
Mathew Mickinac, Beaufort

Head Coach: Van Abbott, Conway
Asst. Coach: Sandy Halket, Greenville
Asst. Coach: Summer Knight, Georgetown
Caddy: Todd Johnson, Newberry
Andrew Johnson, Newberry
Pearlie Fraiser, Georgetown
Zach O’Neil, Georgetown
John Flynn, Conway

Gary Cooper and Gary Cooper, Sr., Greenville
Nikki Dewitte and Ashley Pridemore, Mount Pleasant
Marc Ballentine and Wes Stillwell, Lexington 

Head Coach: Emily House, Columbia
Alexa Myers, Lexington
Michael Blondin, Columbia
Victoria Bernal
McCayne Adams
Shannon Marshall

Flag Football – Unified – Lexington 2 Eagles, West Columbia
Head Coach: Richard Gardner, Lexington
Asst. Coach: Karen Kish, Lexington
Dominique Richardson
Deion Richardson
Lucas Kirby
Carlee Vella
Domnil Williams
Kailynne Crosland – Unified Partner
Emilee Fertick – Unified Partner
Devin Bernhagen – Unified Partner
Oko Gogo – Unified Partner
Josh Salley – Unified Partner

Head Coach: Eric Hubbs, Rock Hill
Rex Stephens, Greenville
Kaitie Spears, Mount Pleasant
Mark Vito, Mount Pleasant
Tyler Chambers, Lexington 

Soccer – 7×7 Unified – Rock Hill Rage, Rock Hill
Head Coach: Kathy Covington
Asst. Coach: Garnet McKeown
Asst. Coach: David McKeown
Jonathan Hemphill
Rickey McClure
Lucas Love
Kevin Rauppius
Tommy Mitchum
Danielle Maurer
Josh Myers
Gabe Mills – Unified Partner
Ian McKeown – Unified Partner
Kaitlyn Marr – Unified Partner
Mitchell Friel – Unified Partner
Alan Parks – Unified Partner

Stand-Up Paddleboard
Head Coach: Rianne Travis, Lexington
Maddie Haag, West Columbia
Kenneth Manigo, Columbia

Head Coach: Thomas Palmieri, Murrells Inlet
Athletes TBD 

Head Coach: Scott Wentzky, Rock Hill
Asst. Coach: Savannah Brown, Orangeburg
Asst. Coach: Kristina Maio, Greenville
Joni Bowers, Orangeburg
John Micah Reed, Orangeburg
Rachel Lewis, Greenville
Jean Knight, Greenville
Molly Cauthon, Lexington
Benjamin Holland, Lexington
Amanda Chase, Beaufort
Jason Elkins, Rock Hill
Emily Saverance, Rock Hill
Rion Holcombe, Spartanburg
Chandler Austin, Spartanburg
Sean Montion, Anderson

Head Coach: Nettie Howerin, Columbia
Asst. Coach: Carl Rapp, Aiken
Jackie Hoch, Florence
Kylie MacFarland, Mount Pleasant
Erin Coats and Nadene Coats, Lexington
Andrew Stewart and Andrei Bolshakov, Columbia
Rashawn Young, Beaufort
Brad Hammond, Anderson

Track and Field
Head Coach: Marty Mack, Swansea
Asst. Coach: Matthew Dawkins, Gaston
Michelle Godfrey, Florence
Skyy Cope, Columbia
Brandon Dawkins, Gaston
Jan Abercrombie, Oconee
John Ruckenbrod, Conway
Peyton Poole, Conway

Interscholastic Unified Track and Field – TBD – School- based program

© 2015 South Carolina Special Olympics, 109 Oak Park Drive, Irmo, SC 29063